Page Location: Home > Playstation 2 Lounge > Topic
lazybum
rank 24
Posted:
Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:57 am
quote : #1
profile : pm
Type: NTSC-U/C
I started playing stretch panic last night. It is a blue colored disc and my ps2 was having a ton of difficulty reading it. Like whenever it has to load between doors(levels) it makes a sound that hurts my ears. Sometimes it can load the level in like 10 secs, sometimes it takes a minute, and sometimes the game will just freeze. All the time it takes to load the level it makes this terrible noise too.

I fear my ps2 is meeting the end of its life. It has had difficulty with blue discs for awhile now, but it has never frozen before when trying to load them. Does anyone know any methods to help an old ps2 read blue discs better and live a little longer?
Posted:
Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:04 pm
quote : #2
I buy a lot of second hand ps2 consoles. A lot of what I buy does not work but in about 50% of cases I find that simply opening the case and cleaning the lens fixs the ps2. Amazing how dusty these things can get inside. Careful to find out which type and model of PS2 you have before attempting this though as you can accidently disconnect some things that willl then mean you have to take apart the entire console to reconnect it.

Laters
Posted:
Sun Jul 05, 2009 5:39 pm
quote : #3
last night I tried tilting the console vertically and then back, and for some reason that helped it read the disc better. Like for the next 5 or 6 loadings between levels it only had trouble one of those times. I probably should still try cleaning the lens though, how would I do that exactly?
Posted:
Sun Jul 12, 2009 4:45 pm
quote : #4